Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award has been renamed after Rajiv Gandhi’s Khel Ratna Award

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award will now be called as the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, as announced by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday, “respecting the emotions of residents across the country.”
The Khel Ratna award is the country’s highest athletic honour. “I’ve received numerous pleas from individuals across India to rename the Khel Ratna Award in honour of Major Dhyan Chand.
I appreciate their input.
The Khel Ratna Award will henceforth be known as the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award, in honour of their sentiments!
Salute to India!”
Prime Minister Modi sent out a tweet. The Khel Ratna award was established in 1991-1992, and Viswanathan Anand, a chess legend, was the inaugural recipient.
In 2020, Leander Paes, Sachin Tendulkar, Dhanraj Pillay, Pullela Gopichand, Abhinav Bindra, Anju Bobby George, Mary Kom, and Rani Rampal were among the other winners.