Day after oath as UP Ministers, Jitin Prasada, 6 others get Portfolios

Lucknow: Congress-turned-BJP leader Jitin Prasada has been appointed cabinet minister for Technical Education in Uttar Pradesh government after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath expanded his team ahead of the Assembly polls next year.

Six other MLAs who took oath as ministers have also been allotted portfolios.

Dr Sangeeta Balwant Bind, first-time MLA from Ghazipur Sadar, has been named Minister of State for Cooperatives, and Dharamveer Prajapati, MLC from western UP’s Agra, is now Minister of State, Industrial Development.

Sanjiv Kumar, first-time MLA from Obra in eastern UP’s Sonbhadra, has been appointed Minister of State, Social Welfare, and Hastinapur MLA Dinesh Khateek is now Minister of State for MoS Jal Shakti.

Paltu Ram, first-time MLA from Balrampur Sadar who was earlier with BSP, has been given charge of Home Guards and Soldiers (Servicemen) welfare. And, Bahedi MLA Chhatrapal Gangwar has been named Minister of State for Finance.

Coming months ahead of the Assembly polls in the politically-significant state, the cabinet expansion has poll arithmetic written all over it.